Research group and research interests

Research Group
Experimental Neurology (“Motor Control Laboratory”)
Dagmar Timmann, MD, Associate Professor

Research Interests
The motor control group is interested in the physiology of the human cerebellum. A major interest is the involvement of the human cerebellum in different forms of motor learning. Questions addressed are whether the cerebellum is involved in particular forms of learning, which cerebellar areas are involved and what the mechanisms of cerebellar involvement are. Another interest is the role of the cerebellum in cognition.
A main focus is the study of patients with defined cerebellar pathology. Localization of focal cerebellar lesions and extent of atrophy in cerebellar degeneration are defined based on high-resolution structural MRI. Lesion data is correlated with findings in neurophysiological and psychological experiments. In addition, functional MRI studies are performed using 3T and 7T MR scanners. Transcranial direct current stimulation (tDCS) is used to modulate cerebellar function in healthy subjects and patients with cerebellar disease.

Members of the Group (Phone, Email)
Group leader:
Dagmar Timmann, MD, +49 201 723 2180/2594, dagmar.timmann-braun@uni-duisburg-essen.de
Inge Gasse, secretary, +49 201 723 2180, inge.gasse@uk-essen.de

Deputy group leader:
Marcus Gerwig, MD, +49 201 723 6512/6506, marcus.gerwig@uni-duisburg-essen.de

Group members:
Giorgi Batsikadze, Postdoc, +49 201 723 3816/3815, giorgi.batsikadze@uni-due.de
Beate Brol, technician, +49 201 723 2594, beate.brol@uni-duisburg-essen.de
Anna Brol, master student, +49 201 723 3815, anna.brol@uk-essen.de
Rossitza Draganova, Postdoc, +49 201 723 3815, rossitza.draganova@uk-essen.de
Hans-Gerd Elles, technician, +49 201 723 2594, hans-gerd.elles@uni-duisburg-essen.de
Thomas Ernst, PhD student, +49 201 723 3815, thomas.ernst@uk-essen.de
Thomas Hulst, PhD student, +49 201 723 3769, thomas.hulst@uk-essen.de

Johanna Ellermann, student help, +49 201 723 3815, johanna.ellermann@gmx.de
Meltem Gümüs, student help, +49 201 723 2865, meltem.g382@gmail.com
Irina Gutt, student help, +49 201 723 3815, irina.gutt@stud.uni-due.de
Dominik Jäschke, student help, +49 201 723 3815, dominik.jaeschke.dj@stud.uni-due.de
Björn Koch, student help, +49 201 723 3815, koch.bjoern@uk-essen.de
Ariels Mamlins, student help, +49 201 723 3769, arik.mamlins@yahoo.de
Viktor Pfaffenrot, student help, +49 201 723 2865, viktor.pfaffenrot@uni-duesseldorf.de

Visiting scholar (DFG scholarship):
Andreas Deistung, Postdoc, +49 201 723 3815, andreas.deistung@med.uni-jena.de

NRW student scholarship :
Eran Ofer, BSc, +49 201 723 3769, aeofer123@gmail.com

Group members affiliated with the Department of Neurology:
Jens Claaßen, MD, +49 201 723 2594, jens.claassen@uk-essen.de
Katharina Marie Steiner, MD, +49 201 723 2594, katharinamarie.steiner@uk-essen.de
Ellen Uslar, MD, +49 201 723 2594, ellen.uslar@uk-essen.de

External group members:                           :
Dae-In Chang, MD, +49 201 723 3815, dae-in.chang@uk-essen.de
Britta Hüning, MD (IFORES scholarship), +49 201 723 3815, britta.huening@uk-essen.de
Michael Küper, MD, +49 201 723 3769, michael.kueper@uni-duisburg-essen.de
Liliane Tran, MD, +49 201 723 3816, liliane.tran@uk-essen.de

Medical students:
Nino Adeishvili, Linda Beyer (ELAN scholarship), Moritz Dohnalek, Anne Enders, Julia Galuba, Yvonne Gisbertz, Dominik Jäschke, Sarah Jansen, Liane John (ELAN scholarship), Fabian Kahl, Peyman Kaschani, Leonhard Klieser, Björn Koch, Jan Lipp, Ariels Mamlins (ELAN scholarship), Otilia Negruta, Jahan Mallick, Sarah Müller, Johanna Reinold, Andreas Thieme, Wiebke Thier, Meret Wünnemann

Former members and students of the group:
Juliane Alfes, MD; Kristina Andrzejewski, MD; Bakiye Aslan, MD; Nadia Awad. MD; Andrea Banaski, MD; Claudia Belting, MD; Christoph Baumjohann, MD; Raoul Boenisch, MD; Julia Bohrenkämper, MD; Stefanie Bruckmann, technician; Paul Buderath, MD; Uta Bultmann, MD; Roxana Burciu, PhD; Katja Bürgerhoff, MSc; Sandra Calabrese, MSc; Albena Dimitrova, PhD; Kathrin Döring, MD; Johannes Drepper, PhD; Maren Erichsen, MD; Anna Esser, MD; Benedikt Frank, MD; Markus Frings, MD; Nicole Fritsche, PT; Kristina Gärtner, MD; Theresa Geissendörfer, MD; Barbara Gorissen, MD; Hanjo Groetschel, MD; Hana Guberina, MD; Katharina Haerter, MD; Karim Hajjar, MD; Christoph Hein-Kropp, MSc; Aidan Hogan, MD; Olaf Kaiser, MD; Kerstin Kindsvater, MD; Ulrich Krause, MD; Stefan Kruscona, technician; Asha Kunnel, MD; Laura Mazilescu, MD; Mareike Mumm, MD; Petra Mummel, MD; Katrin Ohde (nee Matthies), MD; Tobias Ohde, MD; Simba Oostdam, MD; Alexandra Ozimek, MD; Daniela Pierscianek, MD; Chris Plummer, MD; Björn Propson, MD; Norman Putzki, MD; Kasja Solbach (nee Rabe), MD; Lisa Rauschen, MD; Stefanie Richter, PhD; Carmen Riedel, technician; Anna Rohrsen, MD; Lutz Schmitz, MD; Christoph Schorn, MD; Achim Schwabe, MD; Kristina Spangenberg, MD; Nina Spönemann, MD; Roxana Stefanescu, PhD; Sonja Sturm, MD; Markus Thürling, PhD; Nicholas Westermeyer, MD; Gisbert Wortmann, MD; Dominik Zeljko, MD; Matthias Zuchowski, MD

Phone numbers
+49 201 723 3815/ 2594 (Lab, ground floor)
+49 201 723 2865 (Lab, basement)
+49 201 723 3769 (Lab, ground floor)
+49 201 723 3816 (Lab, basement)

Fax number
+49 201 723 5969

Funding
The group is funded by the German Research Foundation (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, DFG), Mercator Research Center Ruhr, Else-Kröner Promotionskolleg ELAN, the German Heredoataxia Society and the Bernd Fink Foundation.

Important publications (last five years)
Stefanescu MR, Dohnalek M, Maderwald S, Thürling M, Minnerop M, Beck A, Schlamann M, Diedrichsen J, Ladd ME, Timmann D. (2015) Structural and functional magnetic resonance imaging abnormalities of cerebellar cortex and nuclei in spinocerebellar ataxia type 3, spinocerebellar ataxia type 6, and Friedreich’s ataxia. Brain 138:1182-97

Thürling M, Kahl F, Maderwald S, Stefanescu RM, Schlamann M, Boele H-J, De Zeeuw CI, Diedrichsen J, Ladd ME, Koekkoek SKE, Timmann D. (2015) Cerebellar cortex and cerebellar nuclei are concomitantly activated during eyeblink conditioning: a 7T fMRI study in humans. J Neurosci. 35:1228-39

Christensen A, Giese M, Sultan F, Müller O, Göricke S, Ilg W, Timmann D. (2014) An intact action-perception coupling depends on the integrity of the cerebellum. J Neurosci. 34:6707-6716

Thieme A, Thürling M, Galuba J, Burciu RG, Göricke S, Beck A, Aurich V,  Wondzinski E, Siebler M, Gerwig M, Bracha V, Timmann D. (2013) Storage of a naturally acquired conditioned response is impaired in patients with cerebellar degeneration. Brain 136:2063-2076

Burciu RG, Fritsche N, Granert O, Schmitz L, Spönemann N, Konczak J, Theysohn N, Gerwig M, van Eimeren T, Timmann D. (2013) Brain changes associated with postural training in patients with cerebellar degeneration: a voxel-based morphometry study. J Neurosci. 33:4594-4604

Taig E, Küper M, Theysohn N, Timmann D, Donchin. (2012) Deficient use of visual information in estimating hand position in cerebellar patients. J Neurosci. 32:16274-16284

Donchin O, Rabe K, Diedrichsen J, Lally N, Schoch B, Gizewski ER, Timmann D. (2012) Cerebellar regions involved in adaptation to force field and visuomotor perturbation. J. Neurophysiol. 107:134-147

Diedrichsen J, Maderwald S, Küper M, Thürling M, Rabe K, Gizewski ER, Ladd ME, Timmann D. (2011) Imaging the deep cerebellar nuclei: A probabilistic atlas and normalization procedure. Neuroimage 54: 1786-1794

Scientific Collaborations
Andreas Beck, PhD. Department of Computer Sciences, University of Düsseldorf;
Vlastik Bracha, PhD. Biomedical Sciences, Iowa State University, Ames, USA;
Jörn Diedrichsen, PhD. Brain Mind Institute, Unversity of Western Ontario, London, ON; Canada;
Opher Donchin, PhD. Ben Gurion University of the Negev, Beer Sheva, Israel;
Sigrid Elsenbruch, PhD. Institute of Medical Psychology & Behavioral Immunobiology, University of Duisburg-Essen;
Sophia Göricke, MD, Marc Schlamann, MD, Nina Theysohn, MD, M. Forsting, MD (head). Department of Diagnostic and Interventional Radiology and Neuroradiology, University of Duisburg-Essen;
Joachim Hermsdörfer, PhD. Institute of Movement Science, Technical University Munich;
Winfried Ilg, PhD, Matthis Synofzik, MD. Hertie-Institute for Clinical Brain Research, University of Tübingen;
Thomas Klockgether, MD. Department of Neurology, University of Bonn;
Bas Koekkoek, MD PhD, Henk-Jan Boele, MD PhD, Chris De Zeeuw, MD PhD (head). Department of Neuroscience, Erasmus University Medical Center, Rotterdam, NL;
Florian P. Kolb, PhD. Department of Physiology, University of Munich;
Jürgen Konczak, PhD. Human Sensorimotor Control Laboratory, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, USA;
Mark E. Ladd, PhD. Devision of Medical Physics in Radiology, German Cancer Research Center, University of Heidelberg and Erwin L. Hahn Institute for Magnetic Resonance Imaging, University of Duisburg-Essen;
Marcel Gratz, PhD, Stefan Maderwald, PhD, Oliver Kraff, PhD, Harald H. Quick, PhD (head). Erwin L. Hahn Institute for Magnetic Resonance Imaging, University of Duisburg-Essen;
Oliver Müller, MD, Ulrich Sure, MD (head). Department of Neurosurgery. University of Duisburg-Essen;
Ulrike Schara, MD, Ursula Felderhoff-Müser, MD (head). Department of Pediatrics. University of Duisburg-Essen;
Mario Siebler, MD (head); Elke Wondzinski, MD. Department of Neurology, Fachklinik Rhein-Ruhr, Essen;
Thilo van Eimeren, MD, Oliver Granert, MSc. Department of Nuclear Medicine and Department of Neurology, University of Cologne

Meetings
“Journal-Club”: The members of the group meet to present and discuss recent scientific publications and current projects. Meetings take place on Mondays, 5.30 pm to 6.30 pm every other week.

“Neurophysiologische Seminar”: Invited speakers present their scientifc work. Speakers frequently work on the physiology of the cerebellum. Meetings take place on Thursdays, 5.15 pm to 6.30 pm.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *